top of page
Featured Posts
Recent Posts

Rapala Shadow Rap

I approached quite a few retailers to try and get my hands on two Shadow Raps to do a review on the Bandits website in exchange for a reduced buyout price. The only retailer that obliged my request was Angling & Outdoor World in Nelspruit. www.anglingandoutdoor.co.za/

After collecting earlier the month I was eager to put them to the test as I love my xrap's and regard Rapala Jerkbaits as one of the best out there.

That being said, one of the first things I noticed on the front of the packaging, not on the side or back but on the front is "PATENT PENDING ACTION" I'm no lawyer or m arketing guru but I find that ludicrous. The action I believe they are referring to is the ability to swing back about 180 degrees. Now I really tried and couldn't get it to 180 every time but it really does swing back 180 on occasion. There are loads of factors that could change a lure's action. Line type, diameter, rod type, anglers strength, technique and even their mental mood could have a factor in changing the lure's action and behavior.

I am in love with the Shadow Rap's action. It's alluring, erratic and bass love it! As mentioned it can swing 180 degrees, dart in a wide angle from side to side and also shimmy it's body on the jerk.

The body has a dual tone finish which flashes like a yummy baitfish every time it's jerked, please see the video below of it in action.

I was fortunate enough to test them on a quick trip to Nandoni. It was a tough day but managed many fish with the Shadow Rap, it certainly helped my bag allot.

Just shy of a kilo

I really loved the slow sinking attribute. It's something different than the tried and tested suspension models of the xrap and floating jerkbaits. It slowly sinks into the abyss, I feel it imitates a dying baitfish pretty well. As expected 90% of the strikes came when the lure was sinking all so slowly after a range of quick jerks.

There is a whole range of proven colours to choose from and I chose the Albino Shiner and Carbon which is a new darker colour to the Rapala pallette. It's a great colour for stained water colour and those perfectly cloudy days. Personally I would love to own the Yellow Perch color but unfortunately was unable to find it. I will however still be hunting for one! Expect to pay between R165 and R180 per unit for the Shadow Rap. There is also a Shadow Rap Deep model available in the USA and I don't know if SA will be getting them, but I really hope so!

I am sold on the Rapala Shadow Rap. It's a fine piece of lure engineering and a bass catching machine. It's not a jerkbait revolution but it is a big step in that direction. It's also worth every penny! Acquire this jerkbait and you will be pleasantly surprised by its erratic and darting action, especially when your line is out a long way! I am on the verge of dumping my Jerkbaits and getting all of them replaced with the Shadow Rap!

A big thank you to Angling & Outdoor World in Nelspruit for providing the lures at a reduced price for the purpose of this review. Phone Mike (013) 752-2091 and order your Shadow Rap today!


Join our mailing list

Never miss an update

  • Facebook App Icon
bottom of page