top of page
Featured Posts
Recent Posts

BWG Maji Kamba Braid

This is the first in a series of cool reviews we will be conducting on BWG gear. Blue Water Gear is a wholesaler stocking some really good gear for the bass fishing enthusiast.

I was lucky enough to a win a spool in a competition a few months ago but I had no clue I would be reviewing it just a few months down the line. As with any new product on the market I was a bit sceptical that it would just be “another braided line”.

I opted for 20lbs as a personal preference I really enjoy the lighter lbs braid which gives me that little extra when casting my topwaters, making me cover more water with each cast. This is a major value-add when you are fishing a buzzbait that covers water quickly. This in turn equals more water covered per minute which is good when searching in tournaments.

BWG Maji Kamba is a multiple strand weaved braid, its super strong and abrasion resistant with a pleasant softness. Please note that braid that looks like dental floss (non-weaved) is usually for spinning reels and used in different techniques.

I spooled my first reel and soon after started landing fish on topwaters, braid is absolutely wonderful for fishing topwater lures, in fact it has replaced the mono on all 3 rods I use for this application.

A good personal friend of mine only fishes with braid. Spools every rod he has with braid and then uses a mono or fluorocarbon leader. When asked why he replies “it’s more sensitive for me, I can feel them and the lure better”

I on the other hand like to fish more conventionally when it comes to lines. I only use braid for topwater and in extreme cases my Jig rod, depending on the conditions and structure I will be targeting.

There are some factors you need to consider when fishing with it. For example, it would not be ideal to fish real deep structure, especially if you’re sinking a weightless offering. Braid floats! Choosing a higher lbs line will help with manageability and strength. Typically, the lower lbs I fish with will wind up a bit slack (pic below) when fishing slack line topwater methods like jerk, jerk, pause, jerk, jerk , pause. This will cause every 30th or so cast to wind due to the slackness of the spooled braid. The lighter lbs are very thin, which is good for distance and a bit less obvious on the water. The other factor is when you strike a fish and fight it, the braid will dig in beneath itself on your spool and that will also cause a wind on your next cast. If you are willing to sacrifice for extra distance you can go this route. If you do not wish to have a slight mini wind or suffer from a slow thumb your solution is higher lbs. On average the best to fish with would be 50-60 lbs.

Luckily the folks at BWG stocks 12lbs, 20lbs, 30lbs, 50lbs, 60lbs and a monster 100lbs with more breaking strains and types in the works, all available in 300m or 600m spools. They are available in Army Green only which has been proven to be the most popular. I know my photos show the white variation but at this moment the braids will only be available in Army Green.

As a fisherman you have to understand that braid is something totally different to your average line. When you first see a 60lbs rating you start thinking off-shore salt water fishing! In actual fact, 60lbs braid is about as thick as 20 or 25lbs fluorocarbon. It has proven itself as a valuable tool for landing your next keeper and I think it’s going to be even more developed in the next few years to accommodate more styles and techniques. I have landed many fish with my BWG Maji Kamba including a 3.25 lunker winched from roots and grass without issue.

Braid can seriously cut you if not handled with care. I have noticed the Maji Kamba doesn’t cut as easily and this is a relief as wet fingers and finger joints are especially susceptible.

I will post a video beneath to show the knot I use with braid. A Double Palomar can also be used but the knot will be a bit bulky.

To get more info and find out where to buy BWG Maji Kamba, click the BWG logo on the home page or go here:

www.bluewatergear.co.za

Pros:

  • No stretch – direct contact with lure

  • Casts like a dream

  • Has a very high breaking strength per diameter

  • You can winch fish out of / away from cover

  • It lasts a very long time

  • Has excellent knot strength – with the right knot!

  • Most braids float that is good for your lure’s action, especially if you pause for longer times.

  • Excellent Sensitivity

  • Braid can cut through most vegetation easily.

  • Cast it into the thickest nastiest spots you can find with confidence.

Cons (Braid in general):

  • It can cut you!

  • Is a little pricey to start with

  • Can be cut on sharp rocks under strain.

  • Not for deep techniques (Floats)

Verdict

BWG Maji Kamba is some of the best braid I’ve seen. I was really impressed and as I said earlier it’s spooled on all my topwater rods. If you compare the price to some of the other braids out there this is a true win-win. Supple enough for good action and strong enough to winch out those lunkers. It has yet to fail on me and I am going to keep spooling my reels with this epic braid.

Join our mailing list

Never miss an update

  • Facebook App Icon
bottom of page